My Mom’s Cornbread

So after making my last corn bread recipe with taco soup I had a hankering for my mom’s corny corn bread that I mentioned. So I emailed her and got the recipe. It was as good as I always remembered. Super sweet (no agave or butter needed), dense, and about two inches tall. I had some for breakfast this morning 🙂

1/2 C Earth Balance, melted
1 C Corn
1 1/3 C Turbinado sugar
4 Tbs Ground flaxseeds
12 Tbs Warm water
2 C Unsweetened almond milk (or rice…)
2 Tbs Apple cider vinegar

1 tsp Baking soda
1 tsp Salt
2 C Corn meal
2 C Flour (I used whole wheat, but it is really good with white too)

Mix ground flaxseeds with warm water in a large bowl and set aside. Blend can of corn in blender or food processor until the consistency of creamed corn. Combine this with the flaxseed mixture and mix in Earth Balance, corn, and sugar.

Whisk almond milk with vinegar and baking soda and let sit 5 minutes. Add to the flaxseed and corn mixture with the rest of the ingredients.

Stir just until blended. Pour into a greased 9×13 pan and bake at 375 for 30 minutes or until the sides start to pull away from the pan.

Recipe idea thanks to:
My mom

Leave a Reply

