Raw Cheesecake

A fabulous raw cheesecake my mom and I experimented on for my birthday dessert. Ben’s mom, who is a raw foodie, came over and approved heartily! This is my second raw dish, and I am very proud of myself (my first raw food dish was zucchini noodles and pesto). Hopefully raw food can take its place in my weekly menu, I just love it!

Crust:

1/4 C Unsweeted shredded coconut
2 C Pecans, chopped
4-6 Dates, pitted

Filling:

3 C Raw cashews
3/4 C Fresh lemon juice
3/4 C Agave
3/4 C Coconut oil
1/4 tsp Vanilla

Topping: (optional)

1 lb Strawberries, chopped

Place the dates and cashews in a medium bowl and cover with water. Let soak for one hour and then drain. Sprinkle the coconut flakes in the bottom of an 8″ pie dish. In a food processor, blend the pecans and dates until crumbly and sticky. Gently press the mixture into the pan to form a crust. Submerge the coconut oil jar in hot water until it is melted. Next, blend all of the filling ingredients in a blender. Pour the filling over the crust and place in the freezer for 2-3 hours.

Defrost in the refrigerator for an hour before serving. Garnish with sliced strawberries, or blend strawberries with a little bit of agave for a strawberry sauce.

Recipe thanks to:
The Pioneer Woman

2 thoughts on “Raw Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

