Thanksgiving Practice: Pecan Pie

Last weekend Ben and I practiced making a few new recipes to ensure a successful Thanksgiving. And it is a good thing we did. While the pumpkin pie turned out just like I wanted, the pecan pie was a massive fail! Pumpkin pie recipe here.

Check it out:

Yeah. Basically it was a nice crust with a puddle inside. The filling soaked through the crust and crystallized it to the pan, and was over all not very good. Ben and I attempted to eat it more like a cobbler but it was way too sugary and just gross. The flavors were there, and the pecans were nice, but that was about it.

Below is the original recipe from my mother. I have had this pie (non-vegan) in the past, and it was good and set up just fine.

Pecan Pie:

3 Eggs
1 C Karo corn syrup
1 C Sugar
2 Tbs Butter, melted
1 tsp Vanilla
1 1/4 C Pecans

Stir eggs, corn syrup, and sugar together. Add butter and vanilla, and then pecans. Place in unbaked pie crust and cook 50-55 minutes at 350 degrees.

So I made a few modifications. First, I replaced the eggs with EnerG egg replacer. I thought this would set up better than a flax or chia seed substitute. Second, I used Earth Balance instead of butter. Third, I made my own corn syrup using the following recipe I found online (though I can’t remember where). I think that the corn syrup might have been a big part of the sugar overload, since it was basically just 3 C of granulated sugar. But I don’t know if that would have contributed to it not setting up… any suggestions, anyone?

Corn Syrup Substitute:

2 C Sugar
3/4 C Water
1/4 tsp Cream of tartar
Dash of salt

Combine all ingredients in a large pan. Bring to a boil while stirring. Reduce heat to a simmer and put the cover on for 3 minutes. Uncover and cook until the mixture reaches soft ball stage, stirring often.Cool syrup and store in a covered container at room temperature. It will keep for about 2 months.

Pie recipe thanks to:
My mom

Leave a Reply

