Thanksgiving Practice: Pumpkin Pie

As opposed to my pecan pie recipe that was an epic fail (see my failure here), my veganized version of my mom’s pumpkin pie was a success!

It set up perfectly and had that nice custard-y texture that I love so much.

Here is the original recipe:

2 Eggs, beaten
3/4 C Sugar
1 tsp Cinnamon
1/4 tsp Cloves
1 3/4 C Fresh pumpkin, pureed
1/2 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Ginger
1 can Evaporated milk

Mix ingredients in the order given. Spoon into unbaked pie shell and bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. Reduce head to 350 degrees and bake for 50+ minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

So, here are the modifications I made. I used EnerG egg replacer instead of eggs. For evaporated milk I used powdered soy milk. I used double the amount of milk powder for the amount of water to make it kind of like evaporated milk. I ended up having to bake it for like 65 minutes for a toothpick to come out clean, but when it was done it was fabulous! I chalk this up to a success!

PS. Since it was only practice, I used a pre-made crust. Check out Wholly Wholesome Organic Pie Shells in the frozen section.

Recipe thanks to:
My mom

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Practice: Pumpkin Pie

  1. This looks DELISH!!!!! Way to veganize. Maybe I will make this. I also really appreciate that you posted your "failure" recipe – it's important to show people what works *and* what doesn't!

Leave a Reply

