Seitan and Dumpling Soup

Finals are over; and I’m sick. However, I have a few things to be thankful for: 

Thankful #1: I don’t have the flu and it’s just a shitty head cold/throat thing.

Thankful #2: I get to work from home and all the projects I have right now don’t require much brain functionality. Just patience.

Thankful #3: Ben is done with his finals too and doesn’t have a job SO he is here to wait on my every need. what a darling.

So, will all those things going for me, I’m in pretty good shape. But even though I don’t have the flu, I have still don’t really have an appetite. Yesterday I hate oatmeal for breakfast before the real sickness hit but then didn’t eat again until last night when Ben ran to Wingers and got some of their steak cut fries for me (don’t judge, it’s the only thing that sounded good 😉 ). After watching Donnie Brasco and ditching my headache, I decided I needed to eat some real food. SO I wandered down the stairs in my adorable (gag) outfit consisting of a massive sea foam green ‘Gateways’ sweater I stole from my grandpa and some of Ben’s grey sweat pants. While Ben cleaned the tower of dishes that have built up over finals week I made some dumpling soup! Yum! It turned out to be absolutely amazing. I have never had dumplings before, but I am sold now. I had two big bowls before falling asleep and then had another bowl for breakfast when I finally fell out of bed this morning. I modified the original recipe a bit and will add more veggies and less seitan when I make it again, but other than that it was perfect.

Soup:

2 Tbs Earth Balance
1 Tbs Olive oil
1 C Carrot, chopped
1 C Celery, chopped
7 cloves garlic, minced
2 Bay leaves
1/4 C Flour (I used unbleached white)
6 C Vegetable broth (I use Rapunzel brand)
1/4 C Plant milk (the recipe actually calls for a plant based cream but I didn’t have any)
2 C Seitan, chopped (I used the Westsoy chicken-style, see my review of it here)

Dumplings:

1 C Plant milk (I used soy)
1 tsp Apple cider vinegar
2 C Flour (I used half whole wheat half unbleached white)
1 Tbs Baking powder
1 tsp Salt
2 Egg equivalent of egg replacer (I used EnerG)

In a large pot, heat the Earth Balance and olive oil over medium heat until the Earth Balance is melted. Add the carrots, celery, garlic, and bay leaves. Saute until the vegetables are soft, about 5 minutes. Stir in the flour and cook for about two minutes. Add the broth and while stirring continuously. Simmer the mixture for about 15 minutes, stirring intermittently.

While the soup is cooking, prepare the dumpling batter. Whisk the soy milk and vinegar together and set aside for at least 5 minutes. Beat in egg replacer and then slowly mix in the dry ingredients until just combined.

Stir in plant milk and seitan into the soup pot and bring the soup to a low boil. Using two metal spoons to shape the dumplings, carefully drop small balls of dumpling batter into the soup, stirring to make sure they don’t stick to each other. Cook for about 10 to 15 minutes or until the dumplings are firm and puffy and cooked throughout.

Recipe thanks to:
Vegan Chicks Rock

Leave a Reply

