‘Clam’ Chowder

When I was growing up clam chowder was one of my favorite foods. I remember feeling like I couldn’t eat it fast enough and would shovel spoonfuls of soup into my mouth in such rapid succession I would make myself sick. So when I made my roux-based seitan and dumpling soup a few days ago, the first thing that popped into my head was clam chowder. I immediately emailed my mom for the recipe and went and got the needed ingredients. Though I know you can buy cans of vegan ‘clams,’ I wanted to make the soup today and didn’t want to have to search around for some. Since the original recipe calls for not only clams but the liquid they are canned in it usually has a kind of fishy clammy flavor throughout. Since I didn’t have anything to mimic that flavor it wasn’t exactly clam chowder, but the texture and the basic taste was PERFECT. I am absolutely in love with this soup. The veggies are perfectly tender, the roux-based milky broth is lovely, and the seitan was actually really good.

But I shouldn’t take all the credit. Ben, being a complete dear, made soup while I laid in bed watching a documentary on David Bowie titled Sound & Vision. It was fabulous! Anyone who is a Bowie fan should watch it, they have in on YouTube in ten minute segments.

Anyway, back to the soup. I included the original recipe and then my version.

Original recipe:

1/2 C Butter
1/2 C White flour
2 Quarts (8 C) Milk
1/2 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Pepper
1 C Yellow onion, diced
1 C Celery, diced
2 C Potatoes, diced
2 C Clams with liquid, minced
1 C Corn

My version:

1/2 C Earth Balance
1/2 C White flour
2 Quarts (8 C) Unsweetened plant milk
1/2 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Pepper
1 C Yellow onion, diced
1 C Celery, diced
2 C Potatoes, diced
2 C Seitan, diced (I used WestSoy strips)
1 C Corn

Place onion, celery, potatoes, corn, and clams in a medium pot with just enough water to cover them. Simmer until vegetables are barely tender.

In a large pot, melt butter (Earth Balance) and whisk in flour to make a roux. Slowly pour in milk, whisking constantly. Add salt and pepper and then vegetables. Cook over medium heat until soup is heated throughout.

Recipe thanks to:
My mom

Leave a Reply

