Guru’s in Provo, Utah

Before Ben and my 2011 goal to only eat out once a month, and only after a successful month of working out, went into affect we went out to eat one last time.We decided to go to Guru’s Cafe in Provo so that Ben could try their sweet potato fries. Guru’s has seven items on their menu that can be made vegan upon request, my favorites of which are the veggie burrito and spicy curry bowl.

Their sweet potato fries are vegan and super yummy. Unfortunately, they usually come with fry sauce (not vegan) and the only ketchup they have in the cafe has high fructose corn syrup in it, which Ben and I don’t eat. So we got to eat them plain, but I was still happy. Ben and I then both got their veggie burrito. It is reasonably priced at $7.99 and quite clever. The burrito is a spinach tortilla encasing a sort of stir-fry mixture of zucchini, yellow squash, carrots, edamame, mushrooms, corn, peanuts (yum!), fried tofu, and brown rice, topped with pico de gallo and guacamole. Though the tofu can sometimes be a bit dry, I love the combination of the veggies and peanuts. The burrito comes with tortilla chips, salsa, and crappy lettuce. The sides of the burrito are my least favorite part as the salsa/hot sauce stuff is (to me) not palatable and neither is the ‘lettuce.’

All in all, I would chalk it up to a 3/5.

One thought on “Guru’s in Provo, Utah

  1. I love their Thai Peanut Pasta made vegan but on their new menu it didn't have the little vegan symbol next to it. Have you tried it? It's incredible! I wrote them an email asking if it can still be made vegan, I hope so!

Leave a Reply

