Eggplant Mozzarella Sandwiches

So I had a picture of these, but then it got deleted somehow when I sent it to myself from Ben’s phone. Ah, oh well. When we make these again (which we will) I will probably be able to take an even BETTER picture than the one I had, which was in all honesty kind of crappy.

I made these sandwiches the other day for Ben and his brother, Josh. We all really liked them but I think there are a few things I would do differently. First, I would more thoroughly rinse and wipe off the eggplants. They were still quite salty in the sandwich… I also wonder if this is because I let them sit in salt over night. But who knows. Second, I would change the way that I broiled them; but I just rewrote the recipe below to reflect that change.

1 large Eggplant
Salt
Plant milk
Unbleached white flour
Nutritional yeast
Black pepper
Panko
Marinara sauce
Daiya mozzarella
Bread

Wash and peel the eggplant. Cut the eggplant into 1/4 inch rounds (any thicker and they won’t cook right). Lay the rounds out on a large baking pan and sprinkle them with salt. Let them sit for at least an hour to draw out the bitterness; then thoroughly rinse them off and pat them dry.

Place soy milk in a medium bowl. Mix equal parts flour and nutritional yeast with some black pepper in another medium bowl. Dip round in the soy milk and then coat them with the flour mixture. Let the rounds sit on a pan for 10 minutes or so so they set. While you are waiting, place a small amount of panko in a bowl.

Note: If you put too much panko in the bowl to start out with the whole bowl of panko will get icky after just a few dips. Refill the bowl a few times with panko to obtain maximum coating.

After the rounds have set, dip them in soymilk again and then coat them in panko. Heat oil in a sauce pan and then fry the eggplant rounds for a few minutes until they are browned and crispy.

To assemble the sandwich, take a piece of bread and spread a good amount of marinara sauce on it. Sprinkle Daiya over the marinara sauce and then broil on medium until the Daiya is slightly browned. Remove the sandwich from the broiler and place a few rounds of eggplant on top of the Daiya, then top the sandwich with another piece of bread.

Recipe thanks to:
A Fresh New Stomach

One thought on “Eggplant Mozzarella Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

