Martin’s Favorite Coleslaw and Manna Bread

For the last two weeks or so I have been trying to transition to a raw diet. I have been doing it really slowly and not stressing about it. Basically I just eat raw when it is convenient and am replacing some of my staples with raw versions (like my green smoothie, almond butter, and bread).

This week I bookmarked a few recipes in The Raw 50 to eat for lunch this week. One of the recipes I decided to try is Martin’s Favorite Coleslaw. The recipe called for a dressing with olive oil, apple cider vinegar, some spices, cumin seeds, and a ton of cumin. Usually oily dressings aren’t my thing and I thought I thought it sounded a little bland. I had planned to make a raw mayonnaise to mix in with the shredded veggies like a more traditional coleslaw; but in the end I decided just to try it the way it was. HOLY COW. I’m in love. I really have no idea what it is about the dressing, but it is amazing. Who would have thought?

So I have been taking some of this AMAZING (and low calorie, may I add) salad with me every day for lunch. Today I went home for lunch and has the salad with some Carrot Raisin Manna Bread. Manna bread is AMAZING! I usually just get the multi-grain and make a little veggie sandwich or put some almond butter on it, but this week I decided to branch out and have a few flavors to eat as snacks. Yum! Yum! The carrot raisin was fabulous as a little after lunch dessert.

Leave a Reply

