Vegan ‘Fish’ Tacos

A couple weeks ago Ben and I were at Whole Foods and saw a few vegan ‘seafood’ products we had never seen before. We decided to purchase one of each and try them out just for the heck of it. The products are made by Sophie’s Kitchen and are made with non-GMO ingredients and, unlike many faux ‘meat’ products, actually have decent ingredients. The breading is even a multigrain blend! I love it when manufacturers actually care what is in their products 🙂

The second product we tried were the Vegan Breaded ‘Fish’ Fillets (the first was vegan breaded ‘shrimp’). When I was growing up, my mom would make fish tacos and I always LOVED them. So as soon as I brought these home, I called her up and got her fish taco recipe. The result? AMAZING. They were JUST like I remembered them and the ‘fish’ fillets were fabulous in them. I’m not sure how the fillets would be on their own, but mixed up with a bunch of fresh ingredients they just made the tacos sing.

4 Vegan breaded ‘fish’ fillets from Sophie’s Kitchen
3 Tbs Vegenaise
3 Tbs Vegan sour cream
1 tsp Fresh lemon juice
3 – 12″ flour tortillas (or smaller tortillas for more taco-like tacos, this is just what I had in the kitchen)
3/4 C Shredded green cabbage
1/2 C Chopped cilantro
1/2 C Sliced red onion
Cholula hot sauce

Cook fillets according to package directions or until breading is dry and crisp. While fillets are cooking, mix vegenaise, sour cream, and lemon juice to make my mom’s favorite ‘fish sauce.’ When fillets are done, cut them into three slices lengthwise and them with the remaining ingredients (as shown above) on a tortilla.

2 thoughts on “Vegan ‘Fish’ Tacos

  1. you have no idea how excited i am about this! even before i was a veggie i couldn't eat fish because of a wicked allergy (think anaphylaxis) but i love fish. i'mma eat the hell out of these. fish tacos, here i come.

  2. I've never had fish tacos but they always intrigue me – I think you got it right that it's really about the fresh ingredients doing their best with the fish. These sound great. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

