Chayote with Fire Roasted Tomatoes and Green Pepper

In last week’s bountiful baskets Ben and I got three squash-shaped green things. I had never seen then before in my life, so my mom and I looked them up on the internet and found out they were chayotes. About a week later, I decided I should probably figure out something to do with them rather than just letting them rot in my fridge.

I googled chayote recipes and found something that looked pretty promising. Below is my modification of the (non vegan) recipe I found. Much to my surprise chayotes are very versatile and low in calories (nutritional information here)! they were also pretty tasty. I LOVED the addition of the fire roasted tomatoes to the below recipe, I think it really made the dish.

3 Chayotes
2 large ‘Fire roasted’ tomatoes (You can use a can of fire roasted tomatoes, or follow my directions below to roast your own)
1 clove Garlic
2 Tbs Canola oil
2 Tbs Onion, chopped
1/2 C Corn
1 large Anaheim pepper, stemmed, seeded, and chopped
Pinch red chili pepper flakes, or more to taste
Salt to taste
Toppings (guacamole or Daiya)

To roast your tomatoes, core them and then put them in a pan. Turn your broiler on high and then place the tomatoes directly below it. Leave them under the broiler, flipping occasionally, until the tomatoes start to turn black.

Peel the chayotes completely. Cut the chayotes into french fry-like pieces, including the core (1/4″ x 1/4″ x the length of the chayote).

Purée the roasted tomatoes and the garlic in a blender, set aside.

Heat the oil in a large skillet on medium heat. Add the chopped onion and green chilies, cook 3-4 minutes or until soft. Add the tomato mixture and red chili flakes. Cook 3 minutes.

Add the chayote, corn, and salt and cover. Cook for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Top with guacamole or Daiya and serve.

Serves about 3 people.

Recipe thanks to:
Simply Recipes

Leave a Reply

