City Dogs in Salt Lake City, Utah and an Afternoon Out

Ci-tay Dawwwwwwwgs! City Dogs, a local all-vegetarian hot dog cart, just got its name out big time by making it on to Peta’s list of the Top Five Veggie Dogs. CONGRATS City Dogs! Awesome! In tribute to their awesome achievement, Ben and I decided to drop by and visit on a trip to Salt Lake City to get my hair cut yesterday afternoon. Surprisingly, Ben and I have NEVER been there before. I know, I know, crazy. The thing is they are open exactly when I am always at work or when Ben is at school. So we finally went.

I got the chili cheese dog with vegan chili and Daiya…

…and Ben got the Italian sausage dog which he topped with sauerkraut and mustard.

We also wanted to get a side of potato salad, but they were out so we opted for chili instead.

It was such a fantastic day to be outside, so we sat down near the cart and ate our food in the shade.

In the end, I would have to give City Dogs a 3/5. I really hate to do anything less than 4/5 since they are an awesome local food stand run by a cool dude, but I just wasn’t that impressed with the food. I thought the dogs were pretty plain. I am really surprised that Cyber Dogs in Seattle (which is AWESOME) only got an honorable mention and City Dogs made it into the top 5. That being said, next time I am in Salt Lake in the afternoon and want a cheap lunch, I am probably doing to drop by City Dogs again 🙂

After our visit to City Dogs, we still had some time before my hair cut appointment so we decided to waste time at one of our favorite places in the world, City Cakes.

Here is me, pre-hair cut! Look at those loooong locks. (After hair cut pic to come soon.)

Ben and I weren’t too hungry since we had just eaten our hot dogs, so we shared a piece of cheesecake. We have tried most of the things on their menu, but this was a first for the cheesecake. We both enjoyed it immensely 🙂 Though, the blackberry and little dot of frosting on the top really didn’t belong.

Leave a Reply

