Happy Birthday, Blog!

Exactly one year ago today at 2:59 pm I published the first post on this blog, Barbecued Seitan Ribs and Barbecue Baked Lentils. That same day I also posted my second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth posts, Seitan Fajitas, Pancakes with Strawberry Syrup, Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins, Zucchini Muffins, and a Reuben Sandwich.

It all started when I started posting pictures with recipes on the Facebook group created by a local friend of mine, What Do Vegans Eat? After a few recipes I realized I wanted to be able to save the recipes I was posting and not just get them lost in the blog feed. So, I created an photo album on my Facebook page and started posting pictures and recipes. After a little while my Facebook (originally created for keeping in touch with family and friends) was turning into a recipe book. I decided it was time that I went in to the big league–so I created a blog.

For those of you who have been following my blog since the beginning, you will remember that it used to be just recipes and pictures with hardly any explanation and no personal stuff. At that time it was titled “The Vegan Cooking Adventures of Meggie and Ben.” About six months in, it began to be a blog more about all things vegan with product reviews and restaurant reviews so I re-titled it “The Vegan Adventures of Meggie and Ben,” which it is still titled.

In the last few months, I have started writing about more life stuff. I still post recipes and restaurant reviews and other vegan-y things, but I also post about my exercise goals, what’s up with us and the pets, and big life events (hello, wedding). I started doing this after I really analyzed my stats one day and realized that I get most of my hits from the personal posts. My recipes do pretty good, but I think the majority of the people who visit my blog are friends, acquaintances, and family checking in. Which I am totally cool with. It’s also great because instead of just seeing my life through recipes I have a sort of online journal with photos that I can look back on in years to come.

So, here we are, a full year later. We now have 36 followers and an average of 100 hits a day. I am hoping that it will keep expanding, though the growth has been static for a few months. But we will see what happens, I am excited to see where we are a year from now!

Leave a Reply

