Flying Apron in Seattle, Washington

Our first breakfast in Seattle was at the Flying Apron. I wasn’t sure what to expect since it hadn’t been specifically recommended to me by the Seattle vegan I talked to and I had just kind of stumbled upon their website in my internet searches, but I was hopeful. Luckily, I was NOT disappointed!

Flying Apron is a wheat- and gluten-free bakery that is also 100% vegan! OH, AND it is 100% organic. Basically the coolest place ever. As soon as I walked in I was shocked by how big of a selection they had. Not only did they have a huge selection, but EVERYTHING looked amazing! I was so sad I couldn’t just get one of everything.

In looking at the (very, very healthy looking) ingredients I started to get a bit nervous that it would all be too dense and not sweet. The majority (possibly all?) of their treats didn’t have refined sugars and all of them had whole, dense-sounding flours. But Ben and I finally settled on three things. The banana bread bar, the pumpkin bar, and the pecan cinnamon roll.

Banana bread bar
Pumpkin bar
Pecan cinnamon roll

Ben also got a coffee and I got a kombucha.

Coffee!
The spread! and me.

As soon as I took my first bite I knew it was good. The banana bread bar was no normal banana bread bar. It was an AMAZING banana bread bar. Perfectly dense and moist, it had chocolate chips, raisins, and walnuts pressed into the top for a bit of a change. The pumpkin bar was equally amazing. It had nuts and raisins pressed into the top and had crystallized ginger pieces throughout that had moistened up during baking, making spicy, sweet surprises throughout. The cinnamon roll was fantastic as well. A little dry at first, but as soon as I got into the inner layers I was in heaven.

Hands down, I would give Flying Apron a 5/5. The majority of their treats I would consider good breakfast foods, but they would all make amazing desserts too. I wish I could go back and get one of everything!

Leave a Reply

