La Jolla Groves in Provo, Utah

Last week my boss and a few of the managers from my team at work flew in from various parts of the world for a week of training and meetings. For our team lunch, I suggested to go to La Jolla Groves. I had been there once before for a business lunch and remembered all that attended were impressed, so I figured it would be a good choice. I also remembered that when I went there last they were very, very accommodating and their veganization of a meat-heavy meal was quite tasty.

For my appetizer, I got the house salad with lemon vinaigrette. It came olive oil toasted croutons and I LOVED the lemon dressing.

For my entree (picture above), I got the Beef Tenderloin Medallions without the beef. This consisted of roasted baby potatoes, asparagus, and heirloom carrots topped with a ginger mango reduction sauce. It may not sound like much of a meal to some, but it is quite filling. The vegetables were done perfectly and the sauce is to die for. One thing you need to know about La Jolla Groves is that every entree on their menu with the exception of a few salads is a meat-based dish. Meat is the center of every entree and they have all kinds of meat. But, personally, I would rather go to La Jolla Groves than Tucanos (a Brazilian meat grill) which is where everyone usually wants to go for our team lunches. I love that La Jolla Groves knows how to do their veggies and makes an effort to keep their veggie customers happy, even down to arranging the plate of veggies. I also love that the waiters know what is in every dish, sauce, and side.

For dessert, I asked for some fruit. They have a large fruit platter as an appetizer, but the waiter asked the chef to make me a small cup of fruit specially. It was yummy and all the fruit was fresh.

Another thing I love about La Jolla Groves is the deco. It feels like you walked in to a lemon grove when you enter. Besides the lemon trees and lanterns, everything in the restaurant has a southern France feel to it. I think it’s a really lovely place.

In the end, I would give La Jolla Groves a 4/5. It’s hard to give a very meat-based restaurant such high marks, but I have to say it’s above average. I don’t have a single complaint about the restaurant (Except of course the fact that they serve meat!).

UPDATE: I’ve been three times since this post and ordered the same thing every time. It’s the ONLY veganizable thing on their menu except the salads. I’ve also had bad service a few times I’ve been there. So, I’ve reduced the rating to a 3/5. It’s decent if you’re going to lunch with meat lovers, but not my favorite.

Aaaaaaand here’s my team! Aren’t we all so cute 🙂

Leave a Reply

