Vegan Mofo Day 1: Raw Food Month Day 1

Today is the first day of Vegan MoFo (Vegan Month of Food) and the first day of my month of raw cleanse! For those of you who don’t know, I am doing a month of raw food to hopefully cleanse, detox, and recalibrate my body and specifically my metabolism.

Ben’s mom, Merilynn, who is a personal chef and raw foodie extraordinaire moved in with us a couple of weeks ago and agreed to cook (uncook?) for me the entire month! I am so amazingly excited. And the first day didn’t let me down!

We started out with a bowl of young coconut yogurt topped with raspberries and peaches. I have made the young coconut yogurt before, so check out the recipe here if you are interested. It’s seriously amazing and the fruit was so yummy.

Our mid-morning snack was a gallbladder cleanse drink made of aloe vera juice, honey, a whole lemon, flax oil, and some other stuff. It was very acidic but actually tasty. I made it half way through my glass and then set it aside for later.

For lunch, Merilynn whipped up a salad from stuff we had in the fridge (she went shopping for the week later that day, so we were making due with what we had around). She made a sweet, borderline bland hemp seed and lemon dressing and mixed it with torn arugula, romaine, and spinach. Then she mixed in chopped red bell peppers, slices of tomato, and red onion. Finally, she topped it with pitted raw olives and avocado. Can I say yum? I had two bowls and was completely stuffed.

For my afternoon snack, I had a Raw Revolution bar. After that, I was so full I didn’t eat anything except the rest of my gallbladder cleanse drink until just barely, when I had two of her RAW MACAROONS. HOLY MSHTWEKLSFND. Amazing. Recipe here.

Sooo I would chalk day #1 up to a win. I am really excited to blog about all my ups and downs of this month of raw food and to share some yummy raw recipes with all of you.

Oh, and click on the Vegan MoFo logo on the right side of the blog to see all my Vegan MoFo posts!

2 thoughts on “Vegan Mofo Day 1: Raw Food Month Day 1

  1. Hi, I just found your blog via MoFo. It's great! I'm MoFo-ing about raw stuff too, over at Fresh Young Coconut if you want to stop by. How awesome that you have a personal chef for the month. Everything that she's made you sounds delicious so far 🙂

Leave a Reply

