Vegan MoFo Day 15: Raw Food Day 14

Day 14 I got a bit discouraged about doing this raw cleanse again after I weighed my self and found that I had only lost two of the eight pounds I had gained in my first week of doing raw. Two weeks on 90% raw and absolutely no refined foods and I’ve had a total gainage of 6 pounds. UGGGG. I’ve been going to the gym too! What is going ON?!

I’m not discouraged enough I’m going to give up, I just hope the number goes down again next week. I’m going to stick it out through this month like I said I would and just see what happens.

For breakfast I had another vega/frozen fruit/banana/spirulina/maca shake.

For lunch I had a simple salad with random veggies from the fridge.

For my afternoon snack I had dehydrated apples and tahini butter. Oh, and I got really hungry and got an orange juice from the vending machine at work.

For dinner Ben and I tried to do something a little more ‘indulgent,’ so made cauliflower mashed potatoes, mushroom and onion gravy, and steamed green beans. I kind of whipped up the gravy from scratch and it wasn’t my best so I’m not going to give you the recipe. The mashed cauliflower, however, was as good as I’ve ever made it. The benefit to having cauliflower over potatoes is that it has less calories, less carbs, more protein, it’s a lower glycemic load, and has a higher nutrient balance. But it’s a miniscule difference, really. Recipe for the cauliflower mashed potatoes here.

Leave a Reply

