The Blue Plate Diner in Salt Lake City, Utah

Sometime in July, Ben and I visited The Blue Plate Diner in SLC with family (I know, I know. But I totally forgot to post this review). I don’t know if it was just the pre-wedding stress or what but I really didn’t enjoy my meal there. First, it became very obvious that the waiter didn’t know what vegan even meant after he recommended a few dishes to my mother in law and she ordered one and when it arrived it had poached eggs right and hollandaise sauce right on top. We had to send it back after explaining to the waiter that eggs weren’t vegan, and when she got her second plate it still had hollandaise sauce all over it! GUH. It was rather annoying, and it made me very nervous to order off the menu since the waiter had no idea what was going on.

I settled on their house-made burger that was labelled vegan with a side of fries and paid $1 for avocado since the burger seemed a little plain (bun, patty, tomato, lettuce, and onion). When I got my plate, I was a bit disappointed. The burger was huge, but I got like less than half an avocado for $1 and I could barely get it spread out on the bun. The burger was dry and unnecessarily huge–I didn’t even WANT to eat the whole thing. The fries were good, but all they had was HFCS ketchup so I had to eat them plain.

I’ve heard that Blue Plate’s breakfasts are far superior to their lunches and dinners and their vegan options are expanded. So part of me wants to go back and try it out, but as of now in my mind Blue Plate is not a place I would go again.

Rating: 2/5

Leave a Reply

