Cafe Supernatural in Salt Lake City, Utah

When Cafe Supernatural opened in SLC a few months ago, Ben and I decided to drop by and try it out. From what I had read I expected it to be Chef Brandt’s (owner of Sage’s and Vertical) venture in to the immensely popular ‘healthy and hip cafe’ trend that I see springing up everywhere. Not that I have a problem with this trend. I would much rather have brown rice than white in my dishes and do enjoy splurging on a meal that I feel good about afterwards. ‘Healthy and hip’ restaurants are actually normally my favorite type as the food is normally high-quality, healthily prepared, and the vibe of the restaurant is comfortable.

When Ben and I got there is was what we expected. Located inside a yoga studio with retro decor, it was friendly and we were excited to try the food. The menu was a bit smaller than I expected and really only had a few options, none of which were overwhelmingly enticing. The prices looked good, though, at around or below $10 an entree. I ended up going for the Nirvana (above) and Ben got the Mesa Azul (not pictured).

I wasn’t super happy once I actually saw my meal, though, since it rang up at $10 and was about 1 1/2 C of rice, lentils, and veggies. Ben’s meal wasn’t much bigger and I think would constitute as more of a snack than a meal.

Besides the portion size/price ration, the food was patronizingly bland. I added more salt and pepper than I usually eat in a day and it was still just barely palatable. Ben’s was the same way but at least came with a side of sauce that, once it was properly doused in it, made the meal pretty good.

In the end, I would give Cafe Supernatural a 2/5. I think it has great potential but as a ‘healthy and hip cafe’ it definitely comes in last. The portions are tiny for the price you pay, and the food is bland. Maybe if the food hadn’t been so awful I would have been willing to pay for it, but in it’s current state I don’t think I’ll be going back.

Leave a Reply

