VEGANIZED: My Mom’s Chocolate Chip Cookies (the BEST)

About six months ago when Ben and I were planning the menu for our reception, we decided to include chocolate chips cookies (who doesn’t like chocolate chip cookies??). We were going to make all the treats for our reception, so a few weeks before the wedding we started testing recipes to make sure they were all going to work.

We had originally planned to use the cookie recipe from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar, so I wasn’t too worried about it but we tested it anyway. They were HORRID. Seriously, gross. We even tried multiple times and they didn’t turn out every time. Besides the wedding getting closer and closer, we really didn’t have the money to keep buying ingredients and basically just throwing them in the trash.

So I decided to try veganizing my mom’s recipe (not sure why I didn’t think of that before…). The first time we tried it, it turned out amazing. These cookies are the best. They can be chewy or crunchy, depending on how long you cook them, and I think the chocolate chip to dough ratio is spot on. We ended up making a massive batch of them for our wedding (see picture above) and they were a huge success.

One thing to note before collecting all of the ingredients for this recipe is that it makes a massive bath of cookies. As I have mentioned before, my mom always cooks like she is feeding an army. So, if you want a huge batch of cookies to freeze or whatever, go for it. But you can always half the recipe for a pretty normal-sized batch of cookies.

1 1/2 C Sugar
2 C Brown sugar
3 Eggs worth of Ener-G Egg Replacer
2 Tbs Vanilla
2 tsp Baking soda
3 C Chocolate chips
6 C Flour
2 tsp Salt
1 lb Earth balance (four cubes)

Preheat your oven to 350. In a large bowl, cream the earth balance and sugar with a hand mixer or fork. Mix in the remaining ingredients. With a spoon, scoop balls of the dough and drop it on the cookie sheet. Bake cookies for 8-10 minutes for soft cookies, or longer for a bit crispier cookies.

Recipe thanks to:
My mom

2 thoughts on “VEGANIZED: My Mom’s Chocolate Chip Cookies (the BEST)

  1. Thanks Meggie and Ben. Last night I made the best version of Egg replacer chocolate chip cookies that I have tried.The 'secret' was that I accidentally left the oven on 350 (when the bag said 375). The slow cooking helped.I see that you already have that temp here. But these ratios are different (e.g. LOTS of vanilla). I am excited to try this one next time!

  2. Pingback: Wedding Menu | The Vegan Adventures of Meggie and Ben

Leave a Reply

