Our First Attempt at Gnocchi (recipe)

Ben and I had never made gnocchi before yesterday. I had always wanted to try it but never really planned it into our weekly meals. Then two days ago I was picking up ingredients for lasagna and thought “hey, why not?” So I grabbed a box of mini gnocchi and a tomato. I actually didn’t follow a recipe but just kind of went with what I had with the fridge and thought of the recipes I had seen for it before. It turned out to be AMAZING. Like, seriously amazing. I ate way too much of it and swore to Ben that we weren’t allowed to make food that good again lest I get really fat. It was lovely with some broiled garlic broccoli and, even though it didn’t need it, I ended up putting some spaghetti sauce on it near the end–just because I love spaghetti sauce.

1 pkg Gnocchi
1 Tomato, minced
1/4 C Pine nutes
4 cloves Garlic, sliced thinly
1/3 C Basil, minced
2 Tbs Italian seasoning, or to taste
2 tsp Salt, or to taste
2 tsp Black pepper, or to taste

Cook the gnocchi according to the package directions. After straining, set aside.

Toast pine nuts until they are brown. Set aside.

In a large skillet, heat some olive oil. Add garlic, basil, Italian seasoning, salt, and pepper. Sauté for 3-5 minutes and then add the gnocchi. The gnocchi will stick to the bottom a bit, but mix it every minute or so until the gnocchi gets a bit toasty around the edges. Add the tomato to the pan and sauté for another 1-2 minutes or until the tomato begins to soften. Mix in the pine nuts and serve.

One thought on “Our First Attempt at Gnocchi (recipe)

Leave a Reply

