Sugar Cookies for Valentine’s Day

I know it’s a few Photo 2weeks after Valentine’s Day, but I really wanted to post this sugar cookie recipe. The day before Valentine’s day I decided I wanted to make some vegan sugar cookies for my coworkers so I called my mom and asked for her old recipe. Turns out her old recipe is actually a recipe she got from my kindergarten teacher, Mrs Dunn. It makes more of the flat-type sugar cookies, not the fluffy ones–but it’s what I grew up eating and I love them! The recipe was pretty easy to veganize and with a heart-shaped cookie cutter and some pink frosting they were perfect for Valentine’s day!

3/4 C Earth Balance
1 C Sugar
1 tsp Vanilla
2 eggs’ worth of Ener-G Egg Replacer
2 1/2 C Flour
1 tsp Baking powder
1 tsp Salt

Preheat oven to 400 F. Beat Earth Balance, sugar, vanilla, and Ener-G Egg Replacer until combined.

Beat in remaining ingredients. Roll dough out to about 1/3″-1/2″ thick and use cookie cutters to cut out the cookies. Bake 8-10 minutes or until just starting to get golden (not brown) around the edges. I even take mine out right before they start to become golden so they are softer. Let the cookies cool on a wire rack before attempting to move them. Frost once cool.

Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

Photo 3

Leave a Reply

